If I cannot lose my salvation, why does God warn me about falling away?

If I cannot lose my salvation, why does God warn me about falling away?  This is a puzzling question isn’t it?  Many have tackled this question and completely missed the point.  Most people have gone one of two ways with this.  The first group believes that the presence of a warning in the Bible means that it is possible to fall away and therefore abandon the doctrine of eternal security as false.  Others believe so firmly in the doctrine of eternal security that they twist and finesse the Scriptures to make it look like it is only warning those who are not Christians.  Both of these sides are wrong.  What?  Let me explain.

The Bible says that we cannot lose our salvation (Phil. 1:6, Rom. 8:28-39, 2 Pet. 1:3, John 10, Deut. 10:14-15, etc.) that is clear.  The Bible also warns people from falling away from God (Heb. 3:12-13, 6:4-6, John 15:6, Matt. 24:13, etc.) that is also clear.  How do these two doctrines mesh?  Rather than taking one over the other, like the previous groups do, we should affirm them both, as the Bible does.  How do we do that?  By believing that one of the ways God causes His people to persevere in faith (Matt. 24:13) and be saved, is by warning us that we could fall from faith and be tossed into the fire (John 15:6).  God is honored this way, because His power in keeping His people (Jude 24) is held up and believed, while God’s warning is seen as it is, a warning.  We should always aim to never soften anything to make us feel more comfortable with what God says.

10 comments

  1. What about suicide? If a Christian commits suicide, does he lose his salvation?

  2. I submitted a comment yesterday but I’m not sure if I did it correctly or not. I am asking a serious question, not playing games. If a man commits suicide, will he lose his salvation and go to hell or will he go to heaven if he is a Christian? I know you can find me because I have a blog on WordPress too. Yesterday I was not logged into WordPress, but I am now.

  3. Corey,
    I’m sorry for not responding sooner, things are a bit busy with me because I’m getting ready to get out of town.

    As for your question: I don’t think suicide’s go to hell. I say this because will be forgiven if you are in Christ. It is a real temptation some people face more seriously than many of us realize. If someone gives into that temptation, are they to blame anymore than the person who gave into another temptation? No. To believe that suicide sends you straight to hell is a Catholic doctrine, not a Biblcal one. What are your thoughts?

  4. Thank you. Sorry about pestering you, I honestly didn’t know if I did it correctly the first time.

    My thoughts? I’m scared. That’s my thoughts. I’ve lost the battle at times only I’ve never succeeded and I fear where I’ll go if I do succeed. Sometimes I cannot tell if I’m already in hell or not & I just cannot imagine eternity like this.

  5. Corey,
    Your not pestering me, I enjoy writing to my readers. Check your email in the morning okay? Thanks man!

  6. I grew up in a church which teaches eternal security. I could see clearly that the Bible teaches that I cannot lose my salvation, but I sometimes wondered about some passages I read which seemed to say otherwise, and I never heard any clear teaching on them. Then I met people who believe you can lose your salvation and had some discussions with them. They used those verses which I had been confused by, and avoided those which I had been taught from childhood. I have been looking and praying for an answer which takes into account both sets of verses. While I couldn’t abandon the clear teaching that God keeps those He saves, I couldn’t figure out how the other verses fit together with it. Yours is the best answer I have read since I started searching out this issue. You don’t swing to either extreme, and your answer seems to me to be Biblical and complete and makes sense. Thank you for writing about this subject.

  7. Melody,
    Thanks for your comment, I really appreciate your encouragement. It’s always nice to hear what my readers are going through. I must confess that this thought is not original to me, many others have said the same. But I do agree with you that this is the most Biblical option we have. Thanks again!

  8. Adam,

    Calvinists believe that we cannot lose our salvation. Therefore, I am wondering how it is that you are not as settled about it as other Calvinists? I believe that many of the saved are sure that they will not lose their salvation, and that is more than a great feeling, yet there are people who will lose their salvation, the Bible tells us plainly and simply about that fact.
    Calvinists insist no one can lose their salvation, but there are scriptures that tell us people can lose their salvation.

    Exodus 32:32-33 Yet now, if thou wilt forgive their sin–; and if not, blot me, I pray thee, out of thy book which thou hast written. And the LORD said unto Moses, Whosoever hath sinned against me, him will I blot out of my book.

    Psalm 69:28 Let them be blotted out of the book of the living, and not be written with the righteous.

    Isaiah 1:2 Hear, O heavens! Listen, O earth! For the LORD has spoken: “I reared children and brought them up, but they have rebelled against me.

    Isaiah 30:9 These are rebellious people, deceitful children, children unwilling to listen to the LORD’s instruction.

    In Matthew 22:14 we see that there will be many that are invited; they come; but they are thrown out.

    Matthew 22:14 “For many are invited, but few are chosen.” See the parable about the Wedding Banquet.

    In addition, see 2 Peter 1:10. Therefore, my brothers, be all the more eager to make your calling and election sure. For if you do these things, you will never fall,

    Matthew 25:8 And the foolish said unto the wise, Give us of your oil; for our lamps are gone out.

    Christ is become of no effect unto you, whosoever of you are justified by the law; ye are fallen from grace. Galatians 5:4. Here Paul tells us we could fall from grace.

    We must pay more careful attention, therefore, to what we have heard, so that we do not drift away. Hebrews 2:1. Here Paul tells us how not to drift away.

    Now the just shall live by faith: but if any man draw back, my soul shall have no pleasure in him. Hebrews 10:38. Here Jesus talks about not to draw back.

    Looking diligently lest any man fail of the grace of God; lest any root of bitterness springing up trouble you, and thereby many be defiled; Hebrews 12:15. Here Paul warns that one can cause trouble and cause many to be defiled.

    My dear children, for whom I am again in the pains of childbirth until Christ is formed in you, Galatians 4:19. The Galatians needed Paul to go through again what he had already done with them before, and that is to form Christ in them again.

    Read 2 Peter 2:18, wicked men can even mouth empty, boastful words, and, by appealings to the lustful desires of sinful human nature, they can even entice people who are just escaping living in error.

    Hebrews 10:30, 31 For we know him who said, “It is mine to avenge; I will repay,” and again, “The Lord will judge his people.” It is a dreadful thing to fall into the hands of the living God.

    Now that you have read for yourself the word of God telling us people can lose their salvation—proclaim it proudly.

  9. Exodus 32:33
    Do you honestly believe that all the people of Israel involved in the scandal with the golden calf were true followers of God? Or do you think that there could have been some goats among the sheep? Come on now. It’s obvious that some of those that were traveling in the wilderness with Moses were not believers in the God of Abraham, Issac and Jacob, so when they see that they fell away we shouldn’t be surprised. Besides if you continue to follow this path of misinterpeting this text then you have to come to the conclusion that everyone will be blotted out God’s book cuz the scriptures declare we have all sinned and fallen short of the glory of God.

  10. I think we are asking the wrong question. I think the real question is were we really saved from the beginning? Do we truly hate sin as God does and has turned away from it? When we become saved..we are a new creature in Christ.. we are dead to sin…but sin is not dead to us.. and sin will continue to be with us on earth until God puts it away forever…and that is why God warns us about falling away. But we now have the power through Christ to fight temptation and sin thru the power of the Cross.. .. We cannot lose our salvation.. do not be deceived by the Devil…. but ask yourself.. were you truly born again?? As Jesus told Nicodemus..to enter the Kingdom of Heaven..one must truly be born again..Christ sees our hearts.. There are some who profess to be Christians, but never is born again.. they bath themselves in good works to only satisfy their guilty conscience…they worry they will lose their salvation..because they know sin lives in their hearts.. but those who are born again and have denied themselves and have carried their cross.. they know there is a reward and eternal place for them that cannot be lost because they know who their Father is.. They know nothing can separate them from the love of God. Is this to say we will never back-slide? Of course we will, but Our God is faithful even when we are not.. But God sees us and he sees who we can be. Why is it that God calls David a man after his very own heart and yet he committed such a great sin? God knows David’s heart.. sin was blocking him from being who he can be. Imagine if Judas’s story ended like David’s.. but this is the other story that God uses to tell us of someone who never really was reborn again.. So do not be deceived.. we most certainly cannot lose our salvation..but check to see if we really and truly have accepted Christ to be our Lord and Savior. I will leave us with this passage…

    1 John 5:9-14…. IF we receive the testimony of men, the testimony of God is greater; for the testimony of God is this, that He has testified concerning His Son. The one who believes in the Son of God has the testimony in himself; the one who does not believe God has made him a liar, because he has not believed in the testimony that God has given concerning His Son. And the testimony is this, that God has given us eternal life, and this life is in His Son. He who has the Son has the life; he who does not have the Son of God does not have the life. These things I have written to you who believe in the name of the Son of God, so that you may KNOW that you have eternal life. This is the CONFIDENCE which we have before Him, that, if we anything according to His will, He hears us…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

